Assistive Technology

IDEA requires that students with disabilities have access to the general education curriculum and have the needed supports to fully participate so they can achieve to standards. One way students with disabilities can access the general curriculum is through the use of assistive technology. Assistive Technology (AT) can range from low tech (picture schedules, raised line paper, slant board, pencil grips, etc.) to high tech (computer programs, “talkers”, etc.). AT is any service, device, or program that provides a student access to the general curriculum. With this in mind, ESU #8 has created an Assistive Technology Team.

Our mission is to ensure that any child, who needs assistive technology within ESU #8, will have access to consultation/evaluation/implementation of appropriate assistive technology devices and services. The team will act to provide support for the schools and students needing AT as well as providing training for schools. Before making a referral, the IEP team must identify the student’s IEP goal(s) or objectives that they believe assistive technology may support.

Click to download the AT Referral Form

AT Team members

SheilaKropp

 Sheila Kropp

Phone: (402)887-5041 Ext. 1227
Fax: (402)887-4604
Email: skropp@esu8.org

add to address book Sheila Kropp

 JenniferStahlecker
Jenny Stahlecker
Email: jstahlec@esu8.org 

add to address book Jenny Stahlecker

 JillHoffart
Jill Hoffart
Email: jhoffart@npsne.org 

add to address book Jill Hoffart

Photo of Jill Bates 
Jill Bates
Email:  jbates@esu8.org

add to address book Jill Bates

MollyAschoff

Molly Aschoff

Email:  maschoff@esu8.org

add to address book Molly Aschoff

KatieMorrow

Katie Morrow

Email:  kmorrow@esu8.org

add to address book Katie Morrow

 Sauser_Tina

Tina Sauser

Email:  tsauser@esu8.org

add to address book Tina Sauser