EDUCATIONAL SERVICE UNIT 8 OFFICIAL SECRETARY'S RECORD OF BOARD MEETING

A regular meeting of the Board of Educational Service Unit 8 was held at 6:00 pm on January 23, 2017 at the Main Office in Neligh, NE. Vice President Tim Lambert called the meeting to order with the following members present: Chilcoat, Heckert, Lambert, Garner, Kuester, and Schmidt. Garner and Schmidt attended via Zoom connection. Also present were: Bill Mowinkel, Jill Bates, Elleah Wiebelhaus, Ruth Miller, Tracey Buettner, Paul Cocolas, Don Prochaska, Bill Huey and Greg Ptaceck.

1. It was moved by Chilcoat and seconded by Heckert to declare the meeting open and properly advertised by advance notice through publication in the "Neligh News and Leader" as shown by the certificate attached to the official minutes of the meeting. Notice of the meeting was simultaneously given to the president and all of the Board members prior to the meeting. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice and in the notice to the president and members of this meeting. All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while this convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. It was announced that the Nebraska Open Meetings Act was posted in the meeting room and agendas were available for interested persons.

Roll Call Vote

Six Ayes: Chilcoat, Schmidt, Heckert, Garner, Lambert and Kuester.

Zero Against

The motion carried

2. It was moved by Kuester and seconded by Heckert to excuse Arehart, Kassmeier and Brewster from the meeting for personal reasons.

Roll Call Vote

Six Ayes: Heckert, Garner, Lambert, Schmidt, Kuester and Chilcoat.

Zero Against

The motion carried

- 3. Kassmeier arrived via Zoom connection at 6:07pm.
- 4. Garner was disconnected from Zoom connection at 6:28pm.
- 5. Garner was reconnected via Zoom connection at 6:45pm.
- 6. A discussion was held regarding the ESU 8 renovation project with representatives from Prochaska & Associates and ESU 8 attorney Tracey Buettner.
- 7. It was moved by Kuester and seconded by Chilcoat to approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on December 19, 2016 with the following amendment:
 - a. On item #9, add "because the bids were too high" as the reason for bid rejection.

Roll Call Vote

Seven Ayes: Kuester, Kassmeier, Schmidt, Chilcoat, Heckert, Garner and Lambert.

Zero Against

The motion carried

8. It was moved by Garner and seconded by Chilcoat to approve the treasurer's reports as presented.
Roll Call Vote

Seven Ayes: Heckert, Garner, Lambert, Kuester, Chilcoat, Schmidt and Kassmeier.

Zero Against

The motion carried

9. It was moved by Garner and seconded by Kuester to pay all the bills as presented.

Roll Call Vote

Seven Ayes: Chilcoat, Garner, Kassmeier, Lambert, Kuester, Schmidt and Heckert.

Zero Against

The motion carried

10. It was moved by Garner and seconded by Heckert to adjourn sine die for reorganization of the Board and appoint Bill Mowinkel as temporary chairman.

Roll Call Vote

Seven Ayes: Chilcoat, Kassmeier, Heckert, Garner, Kuester, Lambert and Schmidt.

Zero Against

The motion carried

- 11. It was moved by Chilcoat and seconded by Heckert to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot to keep all current officers the same for 2017 as they were in 2016.
 - a. President Dan Garner
 - b. Vice President Tim Lambert
 - c. Secretary Bill Kuester
 - d. Treasurer Elleah Wiebelhaus
 - e. Recording Secretary Jill Bates

Roll Call Vote

Seven Ayes: Chilcoat, Lambert, Garner, Kassmeier, Heckert, Schmidt and Kuester.

Zero Against

The motion carried

12. It was moved by Kuester and seconded by Heckert to set the salary of the Treasurer at \$450 per year.

Roll Call Vote

Seven Ayes: Kuester, Garner, Kassmeier, Lambert, Chilcoat, Schmidt and Heckert.

Zero Against

The motion carried

- 13. It was moved by Garner and seconded by Kuester to designate the official individuals and organizations as follows:
 - a. Legal Newspaper (Neligh News and Leader)
 - b. Attorney (the firms of Perry Law Firm and Stratton, DeLay, Doele, Carlson & Buettner, P.C., L.L.O)
 - c. Unit Doctor (AMH Family Practice of Neligh)
 - d. Administrator of all state and federal programs administered by ESU 8 (Bill Mowinkel)
 - e. Official Depositories:

Bank of Elgin

Bank of Madison

Bank of Newman Grove

Bank of Orchard

Bank of the West

BankFirst

Battle Creek State Bank

Brunswick State Bank Butte State Bank

Chambers State Bank

Citizens State Bank Cornerstone Bank

Elkhorn Valley Bank & Trust

Ericson State Bank

Farmers State Bank

First National Bank & Trust

First Nebraska Bank Great Western Bank

Heritage Bank

Madison County Bank

Midwest Bank

Nebraska State Bank

Pinnacle Bank Security Bank

Stanton State Bank

Tilden Bank Tri-County Bank

US Bank

Wells Fargo Bank

- f. Board Committees
 - i. WLC Facility Garner and Lambert
 - ii. ELC Facility Heckert, Schmidt and Kassmeier
 - iii. Neligh Facilities Kuester, Arehart and Chilcoat
 - iv. Budget Committee Schmidt and Chilcoat
 - v. Catastrophic Leave Committee Kuester and Arehart
 - vi. Negotiations Committee Schmidt, Arehart, Brewster, Lambert and Kuester (Alternate)
 - vii. Vehicle Committee Kuester, Arehart and Chilcoat
 - viii. Technology Committee Lambert, Chilcoat and Garner
 - ix. Safety Committee Kuester and Arehart

Roll Call Vote

Seven Ayes: Chilcoat, Schmidt, Kassmeier, Heckert, Kuester, Lambert and Garner.

Zero Against

The motion carried

- 14. Re-elected members Chilcoat, Garner, Kassmeier and Lambert signed the ESU 8 Board Member Oath of Office.
- 15. Mowinkel discussed the 2017-2018 negotiations. Negotiations will be held at 5:00pm prior to the February 20, 2017 Board meeting.
- 16. It was moved by Chilcoat and seconded by Schmidt to approve the revised Declination of Offer to Enroll in Health Insurance Program.

Roll Call Vote

Seven Ayes: Garner, Chilcoat, Heckert, Schmidt, Kuester, Lambert and Kassmeier.

Zero Against

The motion carried

- 17. Wiebelhaus reviewed the recent NPERS Audit with the Board.
- 18. It was moved by Chilcoat and seconded by Kuester to accept the resignation of Kathy Acklie with regrets.
 Roll Call Vote

Seven Ayes: Chilcoat, Heckert, Garner, Kuester, Kassmeier, Schmidt and Lambert.

Zero Against

The motion carried

- 19. Mowinkel discussed expected staffing needs for the 2017-2018 school year.
- 20. Mowinkel reviewed the following items:
 - a. Legislative Update
 - b. January 23, 2017 Winter Workshop & ESU 8 All Staff Meeting
 - c. NASB Legislative Issues Conference
- 21. President Garner reviewed the Administrators Evaluation.
- 22. Other items for discussion:
 - a. IRS mileage rate changed to \$0.535 per mile effective January 1, 2017
- 23. It was moved by Kuester and seconded by Chilcoat to adjourn at 7:38pm. Unanimous vote. The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jill Bates

Recording Secretary